We use cookies to improve the user experience of our website. Cookie Get More Information

Home » Language Resources » Spanish Literature » Prizes » Cervantes

Cervantes Prize

Cervantes Prize

The Miguel de Cervantes Prize (Premio de Literatura en Lengua Castellana Miguel de Cervantes) is an award that is granted annually by the Spanish Ministry of Culture. The prize is named in honor of Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra, the author of Don Quijote de la Mancha. This book is considered by most as the most important work of literature in the Spanish language.

This prize was founded in 1976 with the objective of being the most prestigious prize in Spanish language literature to “honor the lifetime achievement of a Spanish Language writer whose contribution to the Hispanic Cultural Heritage has been decisive”.

In 1979 it was decided that this prize may not be shared, declared null and void or given posthumously.

The Royal Spanish Academy and the national language academies from other hispanophone countries are responsible for the selection of the candidates as well as previous Cervantes Prize winners.

The Prize jury is comprised of 11 people representing different backgrounds and expertise: national language academies from Spain and Hispanic America (2); the previous two prize winners (2); academic, university and literary field (4); journalists (2) and a Hispanic expert from a non-Hispanic country (1).

The winner of the prize is announced at the end of each calendar year while the ceremony is always held on April 23—the anniversary of the death of Miguel de Cervantes. The ceremony is held in the main hall of the University of Alcalá and it is presided over by the King of Spain with the Minister of Culture in attendance.