The Spanish Language Blog

As you know, Spain consists of the Spanish peninsula, the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands. But what you probably didn't know is that there are also two enclaves in Morocco that belong to Spain, Ceuta and Melilla. So there are many more Spanish facts you probably don't know yet. Like that besides the official national Spanish language, there are also four official regional languages in Spain.

Melilla and Ceuta

Melilla and Ceuta are two Spanish enclaves located off the Mediterranean coast of Morocco. The neighboring country of these enclaves is Morocco. Melilla is about 20 kilometers from Nador and Ceuta is a little closer to the Spanish mainland, near the Strait of Gibraltar. The enclaves are easy to visit from Spain. For example, there are daily ferry crossings from several cities in Spain. What makes it attractive to visit these cities is that although Ceuta and Melilla belong to the European Union, they are exempt from European tax legislation. So tax-free shopping! These enclaves belong to Spain because until 1950 Morocco was part of Spain. In 1950, Morocco gained independence, but Spain kept the two enclaves, Ceuta and Melilla. Spanish is therefore spoken in Ceuta and Melilla, although a passport is required when visiting these cities, as these cities are not within Europe.

The Spanish language

In addition to the Spanish language spoken throughout Spain, there are several dialects found in Spain, just like in the Netherlands. However, in Spain, four of these dialects have been named official reginonal languages. Galician, Basque, Catalan and Valencian. In Catalonia and the Basque Country, their regional language is often considered the main language. In many public places, such as on road signs, you will find Catalan or Basque first, with the Spanish meaning given underneath.

The Spanish climate

By now you already know a lot of information about Spain. You will also know that Spain is a very suitable winter destination. However, not all areas of Spain are suitable for wintering. Spain has three climate regions. The south and east coasts of Spain have a Mediterranean climate, as do the islands and enclaves. The north and northwest of mainland Spain has a maritime climate, and finally the central interior has a continental climate. The inland and northwest side of Spain can be compared to the Dutch climate, which has mild winters and cool summers. Of course, in Spain, as in the Netherlands, there can be outliers that make it either warmer or cooler. So the islands, Ceuta, Melilla, the south and east coasts are the best winter destinations.

 Photo by i-Dave

Next Step

Let's talk! Browse our offer and let us help you create your own budget.


Interesting stories delivered straight to your inbox every month.