Knowing the capitals of Spanish-speaking countries is not only useful for your Spanish studies, but also gives you a deeper understanding of the cultural and geographic diversity of these places. Expand your knowledge of Spanish and locate each country on the map to discover a very diverse culture.

If you prefer to read this article in Spanish, you can click here to switch languages.

Capital cities of Spain

As you may know, Spain is the birthplace of the Spanish language, as it is where the language originated. The capital of Spain is Madrid, known for its rich history, art, and lively nightlife.

Although Spain is characterized by its well-known cities spread throughout the country and its unique culture. The country is made up of 17 Autonomous Communities, and each has its own capital. Here is the list of the 17 Autonomous Communities and their respective Spanish capitals:

  • Andalusia. Almeria, Cadiz, Cordoba, Granada, Jaen, Huelva, Malaga, and Seville. Seville is the capital.
  • Aragon. Huesca, Zaragoza, and Teruel. Zaragoza is the capital.
  • Asturias. Its capital is Oviedo.
  • Balearic Islands. It is an archipelago formed by 5 islands: Menorca, Mallorca, Ibiza, Formentera, and Cabrera. The capital is Palma de Mallorca.
  • Canary Islands. It is made up of 7 islands and divided into two provinces. The province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife with: Tenerife, La Gomera, La Palma and El Hierro. And the province of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria with: Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, and Lanzarote. The capital is Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.
  • Cantabria. Its capital is Santander.
  • Castilla La Mancha. Toledo, Ciudad Real, Guadalajara, Cuenca and Albacete. Its capital is Toledo.
  • Castilla y León. León, Palencia, Salamanca, Burgos, Zamora, Valladolid, Soria, Segovia, and Avila. This Autonomous Community does not have a capital city, but the seat of government is in Valladolid.
  • Catalonia. Barcelona, Tarragona, Lerida, and Gerona. The capital is Barcelona.
  • Valencian Community. Castellon, Valencia, and Alicante. The capital is Valencia.
  • Extremadura. Caceres and Badajoz; the capital is Mérida.
  • Galicia. La Coruña, Lugo, Ourense and Pontevedra. Its capital is Santiago de Compostela.
  • La Rioja. Its capital is Logroño.
  • Madrid is the capital of Spain.
  • Region of Murcia. Its capital is Murcia.
  • Navarra. The name of its capital is Pamplona.
  • Basque Country. Alava, Guipuzcoa and Vizcaya. It has no official capital, such as Castilla y León.

Spain also has two autonomous cities, Ceuta and Melilla, located on the African continent.

Countries on the American continent

In addition to Spain, other countries in the world also have Spanish as their official language. These places are mainly located in South and Central America, although there is also one in Africa. Here is the complete list of the 20 Spanish-speaking countries and their respective capitals:

North America:

  • Mexico – Ciudad de Mexico


  • Cuba – La Habana
  • Dominican Republic - Santo Domingo
  • Puerto Rico – San Juan

Central America:

  • Costa Rica – San Jose
  • El Salvador – San Salvador
  • Guatemala – Ciudad de Guatemala
  • Honduras – Tegucigalpa
  • Nicaragua – Managua
  • Panamá – Ciudad de Panamá

South America:

  • Argentina – Buenos Aires
  • Bolivia – La Paz, Sucre
  • Chile – Santiago
  • Colombia – Bogotá
  • Ecuador – Quito
  • Paraguay – Asunción
  • Peru – Lima
  • Uruguay – Montevideo
  • Venezuela – Caracas


  • Equatorial Guinea - Malabo

In this complete list of Spanish-speaking countries and their capitals, how many Spanish capitals did you already know; did you locate all the countries on the map? Tell us about it.

Each country has its own history, culture and beauty. By getting to know the Spanish capitals, you not only expand your Spanish vocabulary, but you also connect with the cultural richness of these places. Don't you feel like visiting one of them?

So, if you want to continue expanding your knowledge of the Spanish-speaking world, don't hesitate to continue learning Spanish. At don Quijote you can choose the Spanish course that best suits your needs, your level and your age. We have schools in 11 different destinations in Spain and in 9 different countries in Latin America.

Ask us about your doubts and we will help you choose the destination that best suits your needs so that learning Spanish will be a fascinating journey for you.

Next Step

Let's talk! Browse our offer and let us help you create your own budget.


Interesting stories delivered straight to your inbox every month.