Ecuadorian history dates back over 8,000 years and encompasses an assortment of different territories and cultures that have all played their part in forming the modern-day Republic of Ecuador. Broadly speaking, the history of Ecuador can be separated into five different periods of time. The Pre-Columbian, Conquest, Colonial Period and the War of Independence have all preceded the current Republican Era that the country is currently experiencing.

History in Ecuador commences with the presence of a range of different cultures and peoples who lived in clans that formed significant tribes, who sometimes formed alliances, which in turn created formidable confederations. The Inca invasion marks the end of this era. Spanish conquistadors, led by Francisco Pizarro, arrived in Ecuador in 1531. The Spanish then founded two hugely significant cities Guayaquil and Quito, which still exist today. The Spanish era of political power and influence continued until the Ecuadorian War of Independence which ended with the Spanish being defeated on May 24th, 1822.

Simón Bolívar and Gran Colombia marked the next chapter of history in Ecuador before the dissolution of this state and the emergence of what is now the Republic of Ecuador.