Spanish Alphabet

The Spanish alphabet has 27 letters. Learn more about the letters of the Spanish alphabet and the different sounds.

The Spanish alphabet contains 27 letters and 30 different sounds. It includes the ch (che), the LL (elle), the single vibration, R and the multiple vibration RR. The alphabet also features a unique letter that has nearly come to symbolize the language itself: the ñ.

Learning the sounds of a language is a fundamental part, as solid knowledge of its sounds will help you understand its speakers better and make yourself be better understood.

If you know the fundamentals of the Spanish alphabet (don't get confused with other languages in Spain), you will be aware of the phonetic differences that exist between Spanish and your native language. This awareness greatly increases your communication skills and allows you to begin fine-tuning your Spanish accent.

The best way to identify, learn, and correctly produce the sounds of a language is by practicing it in a country in which it is spoken. We know that is not always possible, which is why here we are offering you the chance to learn the alphabet and its sounds by listening and repeating the letters on their own and in different words, where you can see contextualized examples.

¡Bienvenido al español!